<< Back to catalogue of works


for piano four hands
degree of difficuty: medium
duration: 13’ approx.
year of composition:
I partial perform.: Roma, Agorà 80, 15.4.1985 - Duo F. e P. Pollice
Edizioni Suvini Zerboni, Milano
WORK REGISTERED AT SIAE (Italian Authors and Publishers Association)

This piece comprises two movement: an initial adagio and a conclusive allegro. The compositional writing rigorously refers to a Pythagorical code whose knowledge would not, however, allow for better listening. The composition is, infact, more attentive to producing concretely musical results than to pleasing oneself with one's own abstract rigour. The title alludes to the separation (SEPArare petaLUM) of the first movement from the second, composed some months after. The first movement was performed by the duo comprising the brothers Francescantonio and Paolo Pollice in the course of a concert tour which came about in 1985 in the centre and south of Italy.