<< Back to catalogue of works


for oboe (or sax soprano) and piano (or harpsichord)
degree of difficuty: medium-high
duration: 8 ’ approx.
year of composition
: 2004
I perfo.: Avellino, Festival of Contemporary Music 2005
oboe: Luca Avanzi
work property of the author
available a computer edition
WORK REGISTERED AT SIAE (Italian Authors and Publishers Association)

This Rondò reproposes, reelaborated, the Rondò d'aura for oboe and harp with many changes with regaurds to the pianistic writing, in order to confer a peculiar instrumental physiognomy on the piece. A summary analysis of the composition is reported below (in miniature), extracted from the Rondò for oboe and harp.

Also this Rondò comes about from the series already described elsewhere and which newly flashes to life here. It is characterised by a succession of 11 intervals, each of which undergoing an increase of one semitone with respect to the preceding one. In this way, intervals ranging from the minor 2nd (E sharp–F sharp) to the major 7th (E - D sharp) are created. This extremely particular series was repeatedly used by the author to write numerous compositions.

The word 'series' evokes the unpleasant ghosts of lugubrious compositions loaded down with an excess of intellectualism. The author has made an effort to avoid such an excess. On the other hand, it is undeniable that the adoption of a series does non guarantee anything, and it is equally undeniable that it does not impede anything, just like using any other form of compositional code. The quality of a composition does not arise from the means adopted in creating it, but from the way in which these means are used.

The form of this Rondò is constituted by a Refrain which reappears many times, always varied, and by 4 true Variations. The rhythmic solutions of the 4 Variations are juxtaposed with the melodic character of the Refrains.