<< Back to catalogue of works


for brass octet (4 Tr., 3 Tb. [or. 3 Cor.], Tuba)
degree of difficuty: medium
duration: 12’ approx.
year of composition: 1982
Edizioni Suvini Zerboni, Milano
(the parts can be hired out)
WORK REGISTERED AT SIAE (Italian Authors and Publishers Association)

Ricrìo was written on request by a brass ensemble of the Orchestra del Teatro alla Scala of Milan. As was his way, the author did not worry about the performance of the piece, but took care of its composition with love and attention.

The overall form of the piece is spread out over some twenty pages. Articulated into three movements, Ricrio represents an example of clean woodwind writing. The first movement consists of 36 bars in 4/4, with the quaver marked as 60 on the metronome. The second movement comprehends 28 bars in 4/4 with the quaver corresponding to differing metronome markings: 60, 100, 60, 40. The third movement is made up of 22 bars in 4/4 with the quaver marked as 60 on the metronome. Since the three movements are all written in bars of 4/4 time and the unit of tempo (the quaver) almost always corresponds to 60 on the metronome, the difference or the contrast between the movements is to be sought in the different types of writing of these same movements.