<< Back to catalogue of works


for orchestra and piano concertante
degree of difficulty for the pianist's part : medium-high
degree of difficulty for the orchestra: medium
duration: work at the planning stage (total duration 25' approx.)
year of composition: work at the planning stage
work property of the author
(the parts can be hired out)
( - - Tp. - Cel. - Ar. - 4 Perc. [Mr., Xyl., Vibr., Cp., Glock., 2 Tt. (grande e picc.), 7 Rototoms, 5 Cen., Trg., 8 G., Gc., 5 Ps., C. chiara, C. rull., 6 Crot., 2 Bg., 2 Timbales, 2 Congas] -A.)

General plan of the works

The Primo movimento comprises five episodes, during which homogenous groups of woodwinds dialogue with the piano, each episode juxtaposing the piano with a different group. The first movement concludes with an extended coda, for the whole orchestra. (The five episodes are all but completed.)

The Secondo movimentoinvolves only the piano and the five percussionists (four plus the timpanist), to the exclusion of all the other instruments of the orchestra. It is not a traditional Adagio – sandwiched between two Allegros – but a long cadenza for the piano, with the conspicuous presence of the percussion. Slow flows are inserted within a movement whose character is, in general, rapid and pressing. (The final part of this movement is complete in the solo piano version, which precedes that for piano and percussion. For this latter instrumentation the second movement is not yet complete.)

In the Terzo movimento the prevailing role is entrusted to the orchestra. The piano intervenes with the role of pianoforte concertante.

The compositional technique used comports the exclusive use of numeric codes, not used in a scientific prospective, but as a catalyst for uncommon images, which can be interpreted, secondly, as virtual formal situations, to be lead to a flexible determination.